Noom vs MyFitnessPal: Price, Free Tier and Who It Fits

Noom is a paid weight program ($70 a month or $209 a year in the US, no free plan). MyFitnessPal is a food logger with a free tier and Premium extras. Here are both prices, including the conflicting ones, photo and voice logging, privacy wording, GLP-1 options and who each fits.

Trainera Team
October 17, 2026
9 min read
Noom vs MyFitnessPal: Price, Free Tier and Who It Fits
noom vs myfitnesspalnoommyfitnesspalcalorie tracking appsweight loss apps

Get your free AI training and nutrition plan in 60 seconds

Noom or MyFitnessPal: which one should you pick?

Pick Noom if you want a paid, structured weight program with a guided start and you are ready to pay $70 a month or $209 a year in the US. Pick MyFitnessPal if you mainly want to log food, calories and macros, start free and pay only when you need barcode scanning, photo logging or other Premium extras. The two apps solve different problems, so the right choice depends on whether you want a program or a logger.

All prices and quotes below come from each company's own pages and App Store listings (plus one SEC filing on MyFitnessPal's 2018 breach), checked October 2026. Where the companies show different numbers on different pages, we say so instead of picking one.

Noom vs MyFitnessPal at a glance

The short version: Noom is a weight program with no free plan, MyFitnessPal is a food logger with a real free tier.

NoomMyFitnessPal
What it isA paid weight program (Noom Weight) you join through a sign-up quiz, plus a separate GLP-1 option (Noom Med)A food and exercise logger with Free, Premium and Premium+ tiers
Free planNo: "Noom Weight plans aren't free"Yes: logging, custom calorie and macro goals, recipes, partner apps
US price$70 monthly plan, $209 annual plan (Noom)Conflicting figures, see the price section
Trial7 or 14 days, at a trial price you choose7-day free trial if you have never trialled Premium
Photo logging"Log meals with AI" (App Store wording)Meal Scan, Premium only, English only
Voice loggingNot described on the pages we checkedPremium, English only, not on the website
Food items"1M+ food items""20.5M+ foods", partly added by users
GLP-1Noom Med prescription program, "Plans start at $69 a month" before medicationDose logging and reminders (US and Canada)
PlatformsiPhone, Android, sign-up on the webiPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, web
App languages (App Store)4: English, German, Korean, Spanish20, including French, Italian, Dutch and Swedish

How each app works day to day

Noom sells a program priced by the plan length you choose; MyFitnessPal is a diary you open when you eat.

Noom

You start on Noom's website with a quiz that, in Noom's words, "takes about 15 minutes", and the price you are offered is tied to the plan length you pick. Inside the app, the US App Store listing describes "AI food logging with 1M+ food items, calorie & macro tracking" and a face and body scan; Noom says its Face Scan is "for educational use only" and "not a medical device".

We could not confirm from Noom's official pages how its AI photo logging works or how accurate it is, so we do not rate it here.

MyFitnessPal

MyFitnessPal describes its three tiers in one line on its help center: "Free gets you logging. Premium adds the insights. Premium+ plans the meals and builds the grocery list." You search a large food list, log what you eat, and set calorie and macro goals by percentage. The list is big because users add to it: MyFitnessPal says its database "contains a combination of foods added by MyFitnessPal" and foods added by users.

What each app costs

Noom costs more per year in every case we found: $209 for its annual plan against $49.99 to $79.99 for a year of MyFitnessPal Premium, depending on which price you are shown.

PlanPrice (USD)BillingSource
Noom Weight monthly$70Monthly, auto-renewingNoom pricing article
Noom Weight 4 months$169 ($42.25 a month, Noom's figure)Upfront, auto-renewingNoom pricing article
Noom Weight annual$209 ("$17 a month" on the App Store)Yearly, auto-renewingNoom pricing article, App Store
MyFitnessPal Premium, web page$9.99 a month or $49.99 a yearMonthly or yearlymyfitnesspal.com/premium, as shown to a visitor outside the US
MyFitnessPal Premium, US App StoreItems include $19.99 "Monthly Premium" and $79.99 "Yearly Premium", plus $9.99 and $49.99 itemsNot stated per itemApp Store US
MyFitnessPal Premium+No price on the official pages we checkedNot statedMyFitnessPal help center

Why two sets of MyFitnessPal prices? The premium page we fetched from outside the US showed the lower figures, while the US App Store lists both the lower and the higher items. MyFitnessPal's own note is that "Pricing varies by country and by plan length." Check the price inside your own app store before you subscribe.

Noom's longer plans cost less per month, but you pay upfront: the annual plan is $209 at once, against $70 for one month. If you are unsure you will stay, check Noom's cancellation and refund terms before choosing a long plan. For every Noom plan length and the App Store prices in other countries, see our Noom cost breakdown. For what MyFitnessPal Premium adds and what stays free, see our MyFitnessPal Premium guide.

What you get for free

MyFitnessPal has a usable free tier; Noom does not.

Noom's pricing article says plainly that "Noom Weight plans aren't free". The app is free to download, but it runs on paid plans, and we could not confirm any feature that works without one. The trial lasts "7 or 14 days", and Noom says trial price options "might include $0.50, $3, $10, or $18, among others".

MyFitnessPal Free, per its tier comparison, includes:

  • food and exercise logging
  • logging measurements and progress
  • creating your own foods, meals and recipes
  • viewing macros and setting calorie and macro goals by percentage
  • sharing your diary, linking partner apps and a printable report

One thing is missing that many people expect. MyFitnessPal's barcode article says: "As of October 1, 2022, Barcode Scan is available only with a Premium subscription." On the free tier you log packaged foods by searching for them instead.

Photo, voice and AI features compared

MyFitnessPal documents its AI features in detail and keeps them behind Premium; Noom advertises AI food logging but publishes less about how it works.

MyFitnessPal's Meal Scan lets you "Point your camera at your plate" and suggests "matching foods from our verified food database". It is Premium only, needs iOS 18 or Android 13 and the app language set to English, and does not work on the website. MyFitnessPal is honest about its limits: "Meal Scan gives you a starting point, not a final answer, so you always have the last word on what goes in your diary." It also suggests scanning one dish at a time for better suggestions.

Voice logging is Premium only, in English, on iOS and Android. The AI Coach, a nutrition assistant in the app, is for Premium and Premium+ members on iOS, in English, in the US, UK, Ireland, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, and MyFitnessPal notes that "Coach cannot log food for you."

Whatever app you use, AI photo estimates are a starting point. Check portion sizes, especially for mixed dishes, and correct items before you save them.

Privacy: what each policy says

Noom's policy carries a notice that its website may sell sensitive personal data; MyFitnessPal says it does not "expressly" sell data but some cookie use may count as a sale.

  • Noom privacy policy (updated Oct 1, 2024): "NOTICE: This website may sell your sensitive personal data." It also says "Some sharing may count as "selling" under certain privacy laws" and that Noom "does not sell or share the personal information of children or teens."
  • MyFitnessPal privacy policy (effective March 18, 2025): "While MyFitnessPal does not expressly "sell" information to others, certain uses of Functional Cookies and/or Targeted Advertising Cookies on our website" may count as "sales" or "sharing" of personal information under privacy laws.

MyFitnessPal also had a breach in 2018. Under Armour, its owner at the time, told the SEC that "approximately 150 million user accounts were affected" and that the data "included usernames, email addresses, and hashed passwords". The filing says payment card data was not affected, and MyFitnessPal's help center says all users were required to reset their passwords.

Weight, food and medication details are personal. Read both policies before you add health data, and see our guide to privacy in AI fitness apps for a wider comparison.

GLP-1 medication: Noom Med vs MyFitnessPal's tracker

Noom sells a GLP-1 program with prescription medicines for eligible users; MyFitnessPal helps you log doses.

The US App Store listing says that "If eligible", you can access GLP-1 medicines through Noom Med, with "Plans start at $69 a month", a figure that covers the first month's subscription only and "does not include the cost of medications". Noom's GLP-1Rx page shows different monthly figures in its headline and its FAQ, so we do not quote one total. Ask Noom for the full cost, medication included, in writing.

MyFitnessPal's App Store listing offers dose logging and reminders, and its release notes say GLP-1 features "are now available in both the US and Canada". We found no prescription service in its listing.

Whether a GLP-1 medicine suits you is a question for your doctor, not for an app comparison. The same goes for pregnancy, a medical condition or a history of disordered eating: talk to your doctor before you set any calorie target.

Who should pick which

It depends on what you want the app to do for you, and how much you are willing to pay for it.

If you...Better fitWhy
Want to count calories and macros and pay nothingMyFitnessPalFree tier with logging and custom goals; Noom has no free plan
Want a structured program with a guided start and will stick with it for monthsNoomThat is what its plan lengths are built around
Want photo, voice and barcode loggingMyFitnessPal PremiumAll three are documented, but Meal Scan and voice need English
Use the app in a language other than EnglishCheck firstMyFitnessPal's AI extras are English only; Noom lists 4 app languages
Are considering GLP-1 medicationYour doctor firstNoom Med offers GLP-1 medicines if eligible; MyFitnessPal logs doses
Want workout plans as well as food trackingNeither is built around thatBoth centre on food, weight and logging

In practice, the question is simpler than the feature lists: do you want someone else to structure the process, or a tool to record what you already do? Answer that before you look at prices. If neither fits, our Noom alternatives guide and our MyFitnessPal alternatives guide list other options, and MyFitnessPal vs Lose It compares two trackers head to head.

A third option: training and nutrition in one app

If you want workout plans and nutrition tracking together, Trainera is one option to compare; it is not a medical or GLP-1 program.

Trainera is free forever with no card: workout logging, the diet tracker with calories and macros, 50 exercises, basic analytics, 1 AI training plan and 1 AI nutrition plan a month. Pro ($5.99 a month in the US) adds unlimited exercises, full analytics, 5 AI training and 5 AI nutrition plans a month, a weekly AI shopping list, TRAI (the in-app AI assistant) with 40 requests a month and offline downloads. Premium ($6.99 a month) adds AI food photo scanning (up to 20 a day), AI Nutrition Chat, 10 AI training plans, 10 AI nutrition plans and 10 AI workouts a month, and TRAI with 90 requests a month. Prices differ by country on trainera.fit/pricing.

The limits matter. The food photo scan is an AI estimate of foods, grams, calories and macros that you can correct before logging, and it does not replace weighing food. TRAI answers questions about training, nutrition, recovery and the app, and it is not medical advice. The app runs on the web, iOS and Android in 26 languages.

If you only want a calorie diary, MyFitnessPal's free tier may suit you better. If you want a program built around weight and a GLP-1 option, that is Noom's territory, with your doctor involved. See what Trainera includes on the Trainera for clients page.

Your checklist before paying for either app

Go through these before you enter card details.

  1. Write down the two or three features you will use every week.
  2. Try MyFitnessPal Free for a week. If you miss barcode scanning or Meal Scan, that is your reason to pay.
  3. For Noom, finish the quiz, stop at the plan screen and note the total charged upfront and the plan length.
  4. Check the price in your own app store; both companies show different figures in different places.
  5. Check that the features you want work in your language and on your phone.
  6. Read the privacy policy before adding health or medication details.
  7. Set a reminder a few days before any trial ends or plan renews.

Want training plans and nutrition tracking in one app before you pay for anything? Start free with Trainera, no card needed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Noom better than MyFitnessPal?

Neither is better for everyone. Noom is a paid weight program with a guided start and no free plan. MyFitnessPal is a food and calorie logger with a free tier and optional Premium. Pick Noom for structure, MyFitnessPal if you mainly want to log food and spend little or nothing.

Is Noom more expensive than MyFitnessPal?

Yes. In the US, Noom Weight is $70 on the monthly plan and $209 on the annual plan. MyFitnessPal Premium showed $9.99 a month or $49.99 a year on its web page when we viewed it from outside the US, while the US App Store also lists $19.99 monthly and $79.99 yearly items. Check the price in your own app store. Prices checked October 2026.

Can I use MyFitnessPal for free?

Yes. The free tier covers food and exercise logging, custom foods and recipes, macros and calorie and macro goals by percentage. Barcode scanning has been Premium only since October 1, 2022, and Meal Scan and voice logging are Premium too.

Does Noom have a free version?

No. Noom says its Noom Weight plans are not free. The app is free to download, and the trial lasts 7 or 14 days at a price you choose; Noom says options for a 7-day trial might include $0.50, $3, $10 or $18.

Which app is better for GLP-1 users?

Noom offers a prescription program, Noom Med, which the App Store lists from $69 a month, a figure for the first month's subscription that excludes medication. MyFitnessPal offers GLP-1 dose logging and reminders in the US and Canada. Talk to your doctor before starting or changing any GLP-1 medicine.

Put this into practice with Trainera

Get your free AI training and nutrition plan in 60 seconds

1800+ exercises, wearables and progress tracking, free with no card needed. AI food scanning comes with Premium. Train solo or with a certified coach.

Share This Post