PT Distinction vs Trainerize (2026): Prices, Branded App, Who Fits

A neutral 2026 head-to-head of PT Distinction and Trainerize: how each prices (included clients vs seat tiers), what 10, 30 and 75 clients cost, branded app options, add-ons and who should pick which.

Trainera Team
September 25, 2026
7 min read
PT Distinction vs Trainerize (2026): Prices, Branded App, Who Fits
PT DistinctionTrainerizepersonal trainer softwareonline coaching softwaresoftware comparisoncoaching software pricing 2026

PT Distinction vs Trainerize: the short answer

PT Distinction charges a flat monthly plan with a set number of clients included ($19.90, $59.90 or $89.90) plus a small fee for each extra client, and its Pro and Master plans include your own branded iOS and Android apps. Trainerize starts with a free plan for 1 client and then prices its Pro plan by client seats ($25 a month for 5 clients, $135 a month for 50), with the branded app as a $169 one-time setup on Pro and a full white-label app on Studio Plus ($275 a month). At 50 clients PT Distinction Master ($89.90) costs less than Trainerize's published $135 and already includes a branded app; Trainerize is the easier free start and has the bigger add-on menu.

This comparison uses only the prices each vendor publishes, checked on 25 September 2026, following our comparison method. Trainera publishes this page and competes with both, which is why every figure here comes from the vendors' own pages.

How each one prices: two different models

The two tools look similar in features but charge in different ways, and that difference decides most of the cost.

  • Included-client pricing (PT Distinction): a flat plan fee covers a fixed number of clients, and every client above that adds a fixed monthly fee. Basic includes 3 clients ($6.00 per extra client), Pro includes 25 ($2.40 per extra), Master includes 50 ($1.60 per extra).
  • Per-client seat pricing (Trainerize): you buy a seat tier sized to your client count, and the price steps up when you move to a bigger tier. Pro seat options are 5, 15, 30, 50, 75, 100 and 200 clients; Studio Plus starts at 500 clients.

Billing also differs. PT Distinction shows monthly pricing only, with no commitments or minimum terms. Trainerize's pricing cards show annual-billed prices by default; annual billing saves about 10%, which is why you may see $9, $23 or $248 on its page and $10, $25 or $275 here.

Published prices side by side

Here is every plan both vendors publish, monthly, in USD, taxes extra.

PlanMonthly priceClients includedBranded app
Trainerize Basic$01No
Trainerize Grow$10 ($9 billed yearly)2No
Trainerize Pro$25 for 5 clients ($23 billed yearly); $135 for 505 to 200 by seat tier$169 one-time setup (logo and colours)
Trainerize Studio Plus$275 ($248 billed yearly)500 and upFull white-label app, included
PT Distinction Basic$19.903, then $6.00 per extra clientNo (standard app)
PT Distinction Pro$59.9025, then $2.40 per extra clientOwn iOS and Android apps, included
PT Distinction Master$89.9050, then $1.60 per extra clientOwn iOS and Android apps, included

Prices checked on 25 September 2026 from each vendor's pricing page.

Sources: PT Distinction pricing and Trainerize pricing. For a deeper look at each vendor alone, see PT Distinction pricing in 2026 and Trainerize pricing in 2026.

Monthly cost at 10, 30 and 75 clients

At 30 and 75 clients PT Distinction costs $71.90 and $129.90 a month with a branded app included; for Trainerize we can only confirm the published $135 at 50 clients, so the exact 10, 30 and 75 seat prices have to be read from its seat selector.

ClientsPT Distinction (cheapest plan)Trainerize Pro
10$59.90 on Pro (25 included). Basic would be $19.90 + 7 x $6.00 = $61.9015-seat tier: price not captured in our check
30$71.90 on Pro ($59.90 + 5 x $2.40)30-seat tier: price not captured in our check
75$129.90 on Master ($89.90 + 25 x $1.60). Pro would be $179.9075-seat tier: price not captured in our check

Prices checked on 25 September 2026 from each vendor's pricing page.

How to read this: Trainerize's Pro ladder runs from $25 at 5 clients to $135 at 50 clients (the figure its own FAQ gives), so a 10-client or 30-client coach lands somewhere on that ladder. We do not print a number we could not verify. Add-ons come on top: $10 a month for the Stripe Integrated Payments add-on if you want clients to pay inside Trainerize, $20 or $45 a month for Advanced Nutrition Coaching, $10 a month for Video Coaching, $25 a month for the Business add-on and $169 once for the Pro branded app. On PT Distinction, selling packages and taking payments are listed on every plan, and the branded app is already in Pro and Master.

Two break-even points are worth knowing: PT Distinction Pro becomes cheaper than Basic from 10 clients, and Master becomes cheaper than Pro from 38 clients. The practical takeaway: from about 25 clients up, PT Distinction's included-client model gets cheaper per client the more you grow, while Trainerize's cost follows the seat tier you pick. Below 3 clients Trainerize's free plan wins outright. For the same maths across 30 platforms, see the fitness software pricing index.

Branded app: what you actually get

PT Distinction includes your own custom-branded Android and iOS apps on Pro and Master; Trainerize offers a logo-and-colours branded app on Pro for a $169 one-time fee and a fully white-labelled app in its own store listing on Studio Plus.

A white-label app is an app published under your brand, so clients download your name rather than the software vendor's. Two practical notes: publishing under your own name in the App Store requires an Apple Developer account, which Trainerize's page puts at $99 a year paid to Apple, and PT Distinction's Basic plan uses the standard app without custom branding. If a branded app is the main reason you are shopping, compare both with other options in our white-label fitness app comparison.

Features that matter for the decision

Both cover the core of online coaching: programs, a client app, nutrition and messaging. The differences sit in what is included versus sold as an add-on.

NeedPT DistinctionTrainerize
Free planNo (1-month free trial)Yes, 1 client; plus 30-day trial with unlimited clients
AI program buildingAI program builder from BasicAI Workout Builder from Grow; FitMetrics AI add-on from $6 per client
Nutrition coachingIncluded from BasicMeal and macro tracking from Grow; Advanced Nutrition Coaching $20 or $45 a month
Taking paymentsSell packages and take payments from BasicStripe Integrated Payments $10 a month (included in Studio)
AutomationAutomated workflows from BasicNot listed in our pricing check
VideoNot listed in our pricing checkVideo Coaching $10 a month; group video calls on Studio Plus
WebsiteWebsite integration on Pro and MasterNot listed in our pricing check
Payment processing feesNot publishedNot published
LanguagesNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page

Prices checked on 25 September 2026 from each vendor's pricing page.

If you coach in a language other than English, test the client app in your language during the free trial, since neither pricing page states which languages the client app supports. Our guide for coaches who do not work in English covers what to test.

Who should pick which

Pick PT Distinction if you want a branded app at a mid-range price and expect to grow past 25 clients; pick Trainerize if you want to start free, need add-ons such as video coaching, or plan to scale into a studio.

  • PT Distinction is best for: coaches with 10 to 75+ clients who want their own app on Pro or Master, nutrition, automation and payments included, and simple monthly billing with no minimum term.
  • PT Distinction is not the right fit for: coaches who want a permanent free plan, or anyone who needs features priced separately so they can pay only for what they use.
  • Trainerize is best for: new coaches testing online coaching with 1 or 2 clients, coaches who want a large add-on and integration ecosystem, and multi-coach studios heading toward 500 clients on Studio Plus.
  • Trainerize is not the right fit for: budget-focused coaches who would need payments, advanced nutrition and a branded app, because each is a separate charge on Pro.

Still weighing a third option? Trainerize vs TrueCoach and PT Distinction alternatives cover the nearest competitors.

If neither fits

Trainera is another option, and it is built differently: trainers pay per plan, never per client. In the US that is Free (up to 3 clients, no card), Starter $19.99 (up to 10), Pro $49.99 (up to 30) and Business $99 (up to 75) a month, with yearly billing on every paid plan; other countries have their own prices on the pricing page. On paid plans clients see your branding inside the Trainera client app, and the app works in 26 languages. It is not the right fit if you need your own branded store app at a mid-range price: on Trainera that is Enterprise, while PT Distinction includes it on Pro. Coaching payments taken inside Trainera carry a platform fee of 8% on Free and Starter, 5% on Pro and 3% on Business, or you can use your own Stripe account. Free migration help covers programs and clients from Trainerize and similar platforms, and you can test it with up to 3 real clients before moving anyone else.

Related reading

Frequently Asked Questions

Is PT Distinction cheaper than Trainerize?

It depends on client count. Under 3 clients Trainerize is cheaper because its Basic plan is free for 1 client and Grow costs $10 a month for 2. At 50 clients PT Distinction Master costs $89.90 a month with a branded app included, while Trainerize lists $135 a month for 50 clients on Pro, before add-ons such as payments or the $169 branded app setup. Prices checked on 25 September 2026.

How much does PT Distinction cost for 30 clients?

On the Pro plan, which includes 25 clients for $59.90 a month, 5 extra clients at $2.40 each bring the total to $71.90 a month. The Pro plan also includes your own custom-branded iOS and Android apps. The Master plan at $89.90 with 50 clients included becomes the cheaper option from 38 clients. PT Distinction publishes monthly prices only, with no minimum term.

Does Trainerize include a branded app?

Not on its free or Grow plans. On Pro, Trainerize offers a custom branded app with your logo and colours for a $169 one-time setup fee. On Studio Plus ($275 a month, or $248 billed yearly) a fully white-labelled app in its own store listing is included. Publishing under your own name also needs an Apple Developer account, which costs $99 a year paid to Apple.

Does PT Distinction have a free plan like Trainerize?

No. PT Distinction offers a one-month free trial and says you pay nothing if you cancel in the first month, but there is no permanent free plan. Its cheapest plan, Basic, costs $19.90 a month with 3 clients included. Trainerize has a free Basic plan for 1 client and a 30-day free trial with unlimited clients and no credit card.

Which one should an online coach with 75 clients choose?

On published prices PT Distinction Master costs $129.90 a month at 75 clients ($89.90 plus 25 extra clients at $1.60) with branded apps, nutrition and payments listed on the plan. Trainerize sells a 75-seat Pro tier, but its price was not captured in our 25 September 2026 check, so read it from the seat selector and add any add-ons you need before comparing.

Run your coaching business on Trainera

Your own branded coaching app - clients, plans and payments in one place

Free up to 3 clients, no card. Web, iOS and Android under your brand - and we move your existing clients and plans across for free.

1000+ clients coached on Trainera

Share This Post